^ go up - main page

about my lack of smell

I cannot smell things. or at least, that's what I've always told myself. any time I tell others about this, they say that if I can't smell, then I should also necessarily lack any sense of taste as well. but I'm pretty sure I can taste things just fine.

I started to think that perhaps I am unable to smell things not because I completely lack a sense of smell, but because I don't know how to use it. I do believe I occasionally experience sensations in the nose that might possibly constitue what others call "smell". but I do not have any positive or negative reactions to these sensations, and I cannot link them to past experiences. perhaps I was hardly taught to use my sense of smell growing up... if that's even how that works? I pretty much forgot that smell even existed as a child.